The first church was built in 779 AD and rebuilt in the Romanesque style in the 11th century. During the 16th century, the church underwent partial reconstruction in the Flamboyant Gothic style. The collegiate church we see today, St. Stephen’s with its modern domed bell tower, dates from 1824.

Entombment

Ligier Richier’s “Entombment”, a group sculpture comprising 13 figures that are slightly larger than life, shows one episode from the entombment of Christ.

Christ is in the centre, a lifeless but not rigid cadaver being carried by Joseph of Arimathea ad Nicodemus. Mary Magdalen is kneeling down, kissing Christ’s feet. She is luxuriously dressed in the fashion of King Francis I’s day (full slashed sleeves).

The Virgin Mary is collapsing in anguish but is supported by St. John and Mary of Cleophas while an angel (a portrait of Ligier Richier?) can be seen bearing the instruments of Christ’s passion. The angel’s face expresses a sense of infinite pain.

The two soldiers at the back right of the sculpture have just played a game of dice with Christ’s tunic as the prize while the “centurion” figure seems to be thinking about the drama of the crucifixion. Salome stands slightly behind the others, preparing the shroud with devotion and sorrow.

It would appear that this niche was not the position originally planned for the masterpiece by the artist. The various groups of people seem to be too close to each other. Despite this, the work is one of the sculptor’s main achievements, moving for its depiction of the feelings of the various figures.

The Latin couplet above the niche can be translated as follows:

“Passer-by, admire this tomb of Jesus Christ.

There are more holy examples but none more fine.”

Information and guided tours

  • Office de Tourisme Cœur de Lorraine
  • Tel. + 33 (0) 329 890647
christsite
vitrailsite
monument-funerairesite
The Virgin Mary with the Mantle

Although located in St. Stephen’s Church since 1824, this terracotta statue originally stood in the chapel of the Minims’ friary. With her right arm, she protects the representatives of the Church; with her left, she protects ordinary people and royalty.

The stained-glass windows

Made after the Great War, these modern stained-glass windows include a large number of references to flora and fauna in their colours and the shapes. Most of the religious inscriptions are written in modern French.

Une première église fut construite en 779 et rebâtie dans le style roman au XIème siècle. Le XVIème siècle fut l’occasion d’une reconstruction partielle de style gothique flamboyant. L’église telle quelle se trouve aujourd’hui avec son clocher moderne à dôme date de 1824.

Le Sépulcre

Le sépulcre de Ligier Richier, groupe sculpté comportant 13 personnages légèrement plus grands que nature présente un épisode de la Mise au Tombeau du Christ.

Le Christ est au  centre, cadavre inerte mais non rigide soutenu par Joseph d’Arimathie et Nicodème. Marie Madeleine à genoux  baise les pieds du Christ, elle est luxueusement parée à la mode de François 1er (manches ornées de bouffants et crevées).

La Vierge tombe de douleur, soutenue dans sa chute par Saint Jean et Marie Cléophée tandis qu’un ange (sous les traits de Ligier Richier ? ) porte les instruments de la passion avec une expression d’infinie douleur.

Les deux soldats situés dans le fond droit de l’enfeu viennent de jouer aux dés la tunique du Christ tandis qu’un personnage appelé le « centurion »  semble méditer sur le drame du Calvaire. Salomé légèrement en retrait prépare le linceul avec dévouement et douleur.

Il semblerait que l’enfeu ne soit pas le lieu prévu par l’artiste pour accueillir ce chef d’œuvre, les différents groupes de personnages paraissent en effet trop proches les uns des autres. Cette œuvre maîtresse de l’artiste émeut par l’exaltation des sentiments des personnages.

Le distique latin sculpté au dessus de l’enfeu se traduit ainsi :

« Passant, de Jésus Christ admire ce tombeau,
Il en fût de plus saint, mais jamais de plus beau »

Renseignements et visites guidées

  • Office de Tourisme Cœur de Lorraine
  • Tél. 03 29 89 06 47
christsite
vitrailsite
monument-funerairesite
La vierge au manteau

Située dans l’église Saint Étienne depuis 1824, cette statue en terre cuite se trouvait à l’origine dans la chapelle du couvent des Minimes. Elle protège sous son bras droit les représentants de l’Église et sous son bras gauche les gens du peuple et de la royauté.

Les vitraux

Créés suite à la Grande Guerre, ces vitraux de style moderne, de par leurs couleurs et le traitement des formes, intègrent un grand nombre d’éléments liés à la faune et à la flore. Les inscriptions religieuses sont en grande majorité écrites en français moderne.