Ligier Richier, a major artist in Lorraine during the Renaissance period, was born in Saint-Mihiel circa 1500. His school of sculpture produced many of the works on display in the region, perpetuating the expertise of the “Master Imagemakers”.
img_0590
The Virgin Mary Swooning (église Saint-Michel)

Carved in 1532, this work in St. Michael’s Church, originally consisted of nine figures but now has only two. The only “survivors” of the French Revolution, the Virgin Mary and St. John, are carved out of walnut wood and have lost all traces of their original paint. The two figures have contrasting body movements: the Virgin Mary, no longer able to bear the suffering caused by Christ’s death, is collapsing into St. John’s arms while he is supporting the lifeless body. The draping of the clothes and St. John’s hair are carved in a manner typical of an artistic period when great attention was paid to the body and its anatomy.

The Entombment (église Saint-Etienne)

Work on this statue in St. Stephen’s Church, consisting of thirteen figures that are slightly larger than life, began in 1554 and was completed more than ten years later without Ligier Richier, who had become a follower of the Calvinist doctrine and had left France for Geneva. He died there in 1567. Yet this group sculpture, carved of local limestone, is the artist’s major work, touching all those who see it by the pathos in the expressions of the figures standing around the dead body of Christ.

Le-Sepulcre
A few works by Ligier Richier in the region
  • Memento mori (“Le Transi”) in Bar-le-Duc,
  • Crucifixion in Briey,
  • Altarscreen in Hattonchâtel,
  • Pietà in Etain.
100-0048_IMG
100-0053_IMG
Photo_026

Artiste majeur de la Renaissance Lorraine, Ligier Richier est né vers 1500 à Saint-Mihiel. Son école de sculpture a laissé de nombreuses oeuvres dans la région perpétuant ainsi le savoir-faire des " Maîtres Imagiers ".
img_0590
La Pâmoison de la Vierge (église Saint-Michel)

Réalisée en 1532, cette oeuvre, constituée à l’origine de 9 personnages, n’en compte plus que deux aujourd’hui. Seuls “rescapés ” de la Révolution, la Vierge Marie et saint Jean sont sculptés dans du bois de noyer et ont perdu toute trace de leur polychromie initiale. Le mouvement de leurs corps s’oppose : la Vierge ne pouvant endurer plus longtemps la souffrance engendrée par la mort du Christ s’affaisse dans les bras de saint Jean qui lui redresse ce corps sans force. Les drapés et la chevelure de saint Jean sont caractéristiques de cette période artistique où le corps et l’anatomie sont mis en avant.

Le Sépulcre (église Saint-Etienne)

La réalisation de cette mise au tombeau constituée de treize personnages légèrement plus grands que nature, a débuté en 1554 pour s’achever une dizaine d’année plus tard sans Ligier Richier qui, gagné par les idées calvinistes, quitte la France pour Genève où il décède en 1567. Ce groupe monumental, sculpté dans la pierre calcaire locale, est l’oeuvre majeure de l’artiste tant il touche le spectateur par l’expression pathétique des personnages réunis autour de la dépouille du Christ.

Le-Sepulcre
Quelques oeuvres de Ligier Richier à découvrir dans la région
  • Le Transi de Bar-le-Duc
  • Le Calvaire de Briey
  • Le retable d’Hattonchâtel
  • La Pietà d’Etain

Voir la vidéo sur la route Ligier Richier

100-0048_IMG
100-0053_IMG
Photo_026